Three Months In: Using an Editorial Calendar

editorial calendar graphic

Last week I talked about how the Bullet Journal has changed my life. Using an editorial calendar has done the same, but the magic really started when I began using them TOGETHER.  My first editorial calendar was written in pencil on my wall calendar. It was a little hard to see, but it was there. For the most part, I followed through on it and I love how it makes me feel more organized and together with my blogging. Month two I used the same technique and separately began using the Bullet Journal.

Towards the end of February, I realized that I could combine the two and make everything work together for me. So now I write out my monthly calendar, turn the page of my bullet journal and write out another monthly calendar- just for my blog.

An editorial calendar is a schedule. It’s a way to keep track of what you want to write about and when you want to write it. I love how it gives me time to brainstorm blog post ideas so that I’m not scrambling in the morning to come up with a topic. I could probably be more organized and theme my months,  but I don’t think I’m quite there yet!  Amy T Schubert of Lemon and Raspberry talks more specifically about “how to”  here – I highly recommend reading through if you don’t already use one!

Editorial Calendars really are magic. Mine is the reason that I’ve been so much more present on this blog, which is something I’ve struggled with at times, but love keeping up with. Three months in and all is going beautifully. Keeping up with both the bullet journal and my editorial calendar process has been a lot smoother than I thought it would be, which makes me happy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

