Organization: Bullet Journal

bulletjournal_fallenpeach

How do you keep track of your to do lists?

A couple months ago I would have answered with ” a million scraps of paper all over my desk”. The day that I discovered the Bullet Journal I think I had four separate lists, some items overlapping of course, that I was about to condense.

This post is both a thank you to Kim Werker, who brought the Bullet Journal to “my” attention with this blog post  and a mini review of the Bullet Journal. And, of course, thank you to the inventor of the Bullet Journal. I believe that this has changed my life in some large and very very important way.

I have tried a lot of different ways to keep organized. I even went through a phase last year where I attempted to keep my to do lists on my phone in a “tasks” app. That lasted exactly two days. I need paper. I need to physically write things down or else I will never remember them. If they are hidden in an app on my phone I won’t remember to go there and look at them. Plus, nothing is as awesome as actually crossing something off your to do list.

The Bullet Journal is pure genius. It is a paper and pen way to keep track of everything you need to keep track of without the mess and scraps of paper everywhere.

What I discovered, to my absolute delight, is that this WORKS for me. I’ve been keeping my bullet journal for almost two months now and I am loving it. I loved it even more when I realized that I didn’t have to just have ONE monthly calendar in it. Mine has two. One for events and personal things and one just to use as an editorial calendar for my blog and business. Everything is organized and I can move to do items from one day to the next without having a mess on my hands (and my desk).

The other wonderful thing about this is that you can adapt every time you set up a new month. I started in February and then realized what my journal was missing and added them in for March. You can draw the calendar any way you would like, really, and make the journal work better for you by adapting it to your own habits. For example, I like to actually cross things off instead of check mark them. It helps me see what actually got done vs what still needs to be accomplished.

So, how do you keep track of your to do lists? Do you use a bullet journal? Will you start one? How will you adapt it to work better for you?

One thought on “Organization: Bullet Journal

  1. Pingback: Three Months In: Using an Editorial Calendar | fallenpeach

Leave a Reply

