Reading Thursday: Fiddlehead by Cherie Priest

readingthursday_fiddlehead

Welcome Back, Reading Thursday posts!

I missed talking more about books on this blog. Considering I MAKE BOOKMARKS and read all the time, it seemed weird that I wasn’t blogging more about them. So I’m bringing back my Reading Thursday posts!

These posts aren’t really reviews. I’m not a reviewer. It’s more a start of a conversation and me raving about the books I like and ranting about the ones I don’t.

Fiddlehead by Cherie Priest falls under the first category. I’ve been a fan of hers since I first picked up Boneshaker, and Fiddlehead does not disappoint as the final book in the Clockwork Century series.  A mix of alternate history, Steampunk and zombies with strong characters, both female and male, these books are just plain awesome.Clementine is another in the series, but that appears to only be available as an e-book right now. It’s equally fun.

In Boneshaker, the first of the series, we learn about how the Boneshaker was driven into the ground and released a yellow blight gas that turned most of Seattle’s citizens into zombies. We follow Briar Wilkes inside the walled off city in search of her son and learn about the people living inside the city using masks and tools and fighting zombies along the way. We also learn that the Civil War has been going on for a lot longer than it actually did and that the United States is truly split in two. And that zombies are beyond the walls thanks to a drug being made out of the gas.

The remaining books in the series follow different characters in different areas of the country and Fiddlehead brings a good amount of them together in an epic conclusion to end the war and deal with the zombies. Lincoln and Grant are characters in Fiddlehead, which I thought was handled really well (and with some fun surprises) but ultimately the story belongs to inventor and ex-slave Gideon Bardsley and ex-confederate current Spy Maria “Belle” Boyd and their separate missions to tell the world about the zombies and upcoming disaster and stop the disaster,  respectively.

Like I said, I’m not a reviewer. But I love these books. I love the characters, the world, the way the story is told. Have you read them? What do you think of Fiddlehead?

Leave a Reply

