November Meetup & Taking Inspiration from Jena Coray

reset_fallenpeach

Lately I’ve been feeling overwhelmed. Not all the time and not in huge amounts, but little by little. A couple weeks ago I had a little break down. I cried on my husband’s shoulder, took some deep breaths and then went on with my life. That tends to be how I deal with things – I don’t. I cry once and then keep moving. Sometimes this is good, but a lot of times it comes back to bite me.

Jena Coray is one of the first people who I found and started following on the internet after I started fallenpeach. I read her business blog and joined in a monthly Goal Meetup which has become The Meetup. Recently, Jena posted about taking an “accidental sabbatical” and I have to say, this post has arrived at the right time for me.

While I can’t exactly do what she did, I plan on taking inspiration from this particular blog post and using November to RESET.

In particular, I’ve noticed that my balance is off. I spend a lot of time working hard at two jobs (one 9 to 5 and then fallenpeach) but not seeming to get very far. I spend a lot of time blogging, twittering and marketing but not a lot of time working on my products and then there’s the big problem.

Let’s talk about my Core:  Photography. I love photography. I love showing you my work, both the photos that make it into bookmarks and those that don’t. I love making personal albums and looking through them time and again.

and I have, literally, hundreds of photographs from past trips that I HAVEN’T EVEN LOOKED AT.

Read that sentence again. I am all about road trips, photographs, adventures and I have folders and folders of photos that I haven’t had time to edit and put into a personal album, let alone sort  for new product photos. This isn’t healthy for me. I need to force myself to take the time to look at, edit and sort those photos.

There are other projects too that I need to work on. But what it all really comes down to is BALANCE and Time Management. I need to be better at both of these things.

So. November. My only goal is to Reset. I’m going to continue blogging, but not 5 days a week. I’m hoping for 2 or 3, but we will see how it goes. I’m not  going to pressure myself. I will remain on twitter, because it’s totally my addiction, and I’m really loving instagram as well. But behind the scenes, I’m going to try and work on those two things I mentioned. And hopefully, at the end of it, I’ll have a ton of new photos to show off and new products to boot.

What I’m hoping is that November will be for restructuring my priorities and December will be for slowly putting everything into practice. It’s amazing, but 2014 is right around the corner. And I have big plans for 2014, if only I can get my act together.

Have you ever RESET? How did you go about it? What are your biggest problem areas?

Posted your goals yet? Link to them in the comments, I’d love to read them!

One thought on “November Meetup & Taking Inspiration from Jena Coray

  1. Pingback: Meetup: December & End of the Year Goals 2013 | fallenpeach

Leave a Reply

