July Business Book Update: Craft Inc. Business Planner

Craft Inc. Book for June on fallenpeach

Inspiration struck on Saturday and I spent a nice chunk of the morning and early afternoon reading through the Craft Inc. Business Planner. I took lots of  notes and got lots of ideas. Overall, I really like the planner. I love that it is categorized out and has lots of tips scattered throughout from various professional sources.  There are a few sections I’m not ready for yet (trade shows and wholesale) but someday I will be ready for those too. As for the sections that I was ready for I refused to write in the book because I always end up erasing or changing or writing over because it was messy. I bought a regular 3 subject notebook to start, but eventually want to move notes and printouts into a 3 ring binder to keep everything organized.

One of the first things that struck me as I read through the book and started writing out mission statement ideas and business descriptions is that fallenpeach is about to turn 4 years old in September. We have had ups, downs, re-brandings, small breaks, big breaks, adventures, new products, successes and failures. I’m really excited about the upcoming year or two. I have a lot of ideas running around my head and provided I can make the time and get things done, we will have some exciting adventures coming up.

But back to the book. Another spark was looking at my revenue for the past almost four years. I’ve never really looked at it past a yearly glance at tax time. I know this business isn’t making a lot of money, so why bother was my thought. But it really was fascinating to look and see what months were good, what months were terrible. I also noticed that there were a lot fewer months with zeros in 2012 than the years before, which means things are getting better slowly but surely.

My homework from the Craft Inc. Business Planner:

1. I need a mission statement. All over the web I have a few different descriptions for fallenpeach and for myself. I want something more cohesive that I can use.

2. Marketing and Advertising. I’m not quite as all over the place on this, but there is a lot of work to be done here. I rarely remember about Facebook or Google + and focus mostly on blogging, Twitter and Instagram. I always forget that I have a small mailing list. I need to somehow find a way that works for me to balance out all of these. I need to decide for sure whether I’m going to focus on all or just add one more. I also want to find blogs to possibly advertise on.

3. Start thinking about a Press Kit.

These will all take some time, but it’s a start. I think I will aim to get at least the first two done by the fallenpeach anniversary if possible, 2014 if not possible.

Have you read Craft Inc. Business Planner? What did you think of it?

Leave a Reply

