Choose Your Adventure: Steampunk World’s Fair Edition

choose your adventure from fallenpeach

Happy Friday and welcome to the Steampunk edition of Choose Your Adventure! About two weeks ago, Matt and I spent a wonderful weekend in New Jersey. Which doesn’t seem right, since we don’t really love New Jersey(or, at least, driving in New Jersey). But for The Steampunk World’s Fair we went and had a great time. This is, I believe, our third year going, and every year the event gets bigger and better. I can’t wait to see what they have in store for next year.

I love going for the performances. Don’t get me wrong, I love the shopping and the panels too – but the performances really bring it all together for me and this year was no exception. On to the Adventures!

First, if you are at all interested in Steampunk, please stop by the official site for the World’s Fair and give it a peek.

The big name this year, or one of them, was Steam Powered Giraffe. I hadn’t heard of them before but really enjoyed their performance. From their website:

“Steampunk and Futurism mesh together with mime and music to create a breathtakingly imaginative act.

Hydraulics hiss and motors hum as three robots begin to snap into mechanical movement.
Their instruments ring and the automatons begin to belt out in three part harmony.

The robots of Steam Powered Giraffe are like nothing you’ve ever seen. The malfunctioning joke-spewing metal men play a collection of original Vaudeville inspired tunes fused with modern flare and executed in a super-sleek, one-of-a-kind performance.

More than just a band, Steam Powered Giraffe is an experience that must be seen and heard by the entire family.”

I love how they move in this video more, but I wanted a more cheerful song for the blog 🙂

On a more Goth note, Voltaire was also present and dressed like a pirate (complete with Rum) for a great performance Saturday night. He has a quirky, often humorous and biting, sound that I love.

The White Elephant Burlesque Society is always fun to watch. They perform with passion, humor and sensuality and I always look forward to their performances.

This Way to the Egress is a band that we saw last year and I couldn’t get out of my head. I was thrilled to see them back again this year and bought their new cd (currently on rotation in my car). They describe themselves as Gypsy, Steampunk Cabaret music. I concur and add that if you like Squirrel Nut Zippers and /or Tom Waits you will love this band.

and finally, we did go to a few panels and among them was one on the Paranormal in the Victorian Era. It was presented by a podcast called The Invisible World and I recommend checking out their site if you are interested in the Paranormal at all.

——-

I hope you enjoyed this little Steampunk round-up, have a great weekend!

In case you missed it, this is me and Matt at the Steampunk World’s Fair:

matt and lindsey steampunk world's fair 2013

One thought on “Choose Your Adventure: Steampunk World’s Fair Edition

  1. Pingback: June Goals, 2013 | fallenpeach

Leave a Reply

