Destination Wednesday: Steampunk World’s Fair 2013, Part 1

matt and lindsey steampunk world's fair 2013

Every year we look forward to May and the Steampunk World’s Fair in Piscataway New Jersey and this year was no exception. This year was bigger than ever and it’s so great to see the event grow and all the creative people who go to the fair. People watching is the best, and costuming is top notch (You can see ours above, we are still building our costumes but I’m loving them so far!). This year someone brought their mechanical vehicle, another brought a moving beeping Steampunk R2-D2 which was absolutely awesome. I brought a handmade Capacitive Faerie Destabilizer that you can see if the photo. Matt and I worked really hard on it and I love how it came out. It’s also my first prop that didn’t fall apart! Go me!

We tend to be big on the performances more than panels, but there was a great panel on Paranormal photography in the Victorian era that I loved this year and I can’t wait to see what that presenter brings next year. But the performances, oh the performances. Burlesque, New Orleans jazz, stationary marching band, Automatons, DJ dance parties and more. I’ll be highlighting some of my favorite performers in Friday’s Choose Your Adventure post, so stay tuned for Part 2!

Leave a Reply

