Have you Heard Of : Roadtrip Nation ?

Last week or so I had a moment of “if they can do it why can’t I”. These moments are often bittersweet for me; especially since I get the winter blues really bad.  This winter has been particularly hard on me and I needed inspiration.

Through twitter I found out about Roadtrip Nation and spent an entire weekend watching Season 10 (the only one available for free), totally involved in the idea and inspired by what was going on.

Roadtrip Nation is a public television series, a reality TV show and an awesome movement all in one. Three strangers are chosen to drive the country in a big green RV and interview professionals in their field who are unique or have taken a different route than what was expected of them. The season I watched was focused on scientists and education, but still held my interest. One of the first people they interviewed is a gentleman who uses science to predict the weather and what waves will be like for a surfing website. How awesome is that?

The travelers were “just getting out of college age”, which I suppose makes sense, but I was still able to relate since I seem to be in Generation Stuck. Any other 30-somethings feeling that way? I also related because I want to travel more. And I love road trips. But it was also interesting to hear advice from folks who took a different path than what was expected and turned out okay. It gave me hope.

The interesting thing is that they are casting for a season based around designers right now. I’m not interested in being on TV at all and I’m not really in a place where I could even apply, but I can’t wait to watch the season when it airs. It will probably hit home even more for me and maybe it will fill me with awesome ideas and inspiration. I hope it’s available to watch online since we don’t have a TV.

I haven’t really had time to explore the website fully, but I’m intrigued by the fact that there are independent road trips too. Next time I need inspiration, I’m sure I’ll explore the site more and see what it has to offer.

Have you seen Roadtrip Nation? What do you think about it?

One thought on “Have you Heard Of : Roadtrip Nation ?

Leave a Reply

